[FESTIVAL] How I shifted from 10 years of renting through agencies to AirBnB

Nick
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

[FESTIVAL] How I shifted from 10 years of renting through agencies to AirBnB

Screenshot 2021-08-26 at 10.17.00.png

(photo-cartouche-ChaosduGouet-CG-A.Lamoureux)

Screenshot 2021-08-26 at 10.02.33.png

This topic is part of the CC Hospitality Festival.

The original was posted on the French-speaking Community Center by @Caroline1857 and we have translated it below.

My beginning on Airbnb: how I went from 10 years of rental with agencies to Airbnb and what benefits this brings me in 2021...

I have been renting my villa all year round since 2011 through multiple agencies. After 10 years and non-transparency on the agencies' part linked to the crazy amount of commissions taken and zero services in return, I launched into the Airbnb world.

After the initial concerns raised by my immediate family ("No, it's crazy, you're not going to rent via Airbnb, are you? Aren't you worried?"), I started creating my first listing by choosing photos from here and there that I had accumulated. I clicked the List button in 2019 😊. In 2020, I rented very well but via agencies again.

February 2021, first reservation in the middle of winter, yoohooo! And a good experience: a family very satisfied with their stay, leaving me a really nice comment. And then in May came a 15-day reservation for the month of August, and in June a second reservation for a week in August - perfect!

And I was learning every day...

By participating in the Community Center, which lets you discuss specific questions when starting out. Thanks also to @Emilie for cheering up and motivating the troops 😊

Screenshot 2021-08-26 at 10.13.03.png

• I also admit that I learnt a lot by looking at the listings of experienced hosts, their beautiful pictures and their house rules, for example. It gave me a lot of ideas, and my listing metamorphosed in 1 year.