Help! Long term guest regrets.

Anne937
Level 2
Madison, WI

Help! Long term guest regrets.

Hi, so I am really new at hosting- in fact my current guest is only my second and she is staying with us for 10 weeks. I know I sort of got myself in a pickle by not listing house rules and agreements before hand but I just didn’t know what to put in there quite yet and was going to feel it out.

Well so now I don’t know how I should bring up the (small) issues we have with her staying with us. 

I only charge a $25 cleaning fee and she has agreed to do her own sheets/room/ and dishes I clean everything else. She isn’t very messy but she will leave the counters drenched in water and her used kleenexes everywhere. She broke a whisky bottle of mine and expected me to clean it up. She is using a 3x as much TP and shampoo/conditioner/ and body wash than me and my boyfriend do (we have separate bathrooms) and she is very expectant that I keep replacing all of it. She will wash her clothes twice because she is afraid they won’t be clean enough. She will start making her dinner while we are trying to make ours and in our small kitchen there just isn’t room for that so we stop making ours.

Honestly I know these are very small complaints and I want to be accommodating but I feel slightly taken advantage of and 3 weeks in I am starting to get resentful. I give her rides places like the grocery store and go out of my way to accommodate her stay so I feel like I set a precedence that I can’t back out of. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. And like I said I know they are small issues but I don’t want to be super knitpicky (which I know I am being) but i feel with everything put together I just feel like I need to have a conversation with her but just don’t know the etiquette. 

Thanks!

17 Replies 17
Inna22
Level 10
Chicago, IL