How to require 2 good reviews without instant booking

Kathryn141
Level 2
Bahama, NC

How to require 2 good reviews without instant booking

Airbnb won't let me require 2 good reviews without turning on instant booking.  I turned it off after a 3rd party instant booking.  Can anyone recommend how I can require 2 good reviews, or where I should put the requirement in my listing?  I keep getting booking requests from people without reviews, greyed out photos, and no link to profile.  I think Airbnb might be intentionally making it difficult for me to push me to enable instant booking.  Any help is appreiated.  I am new to hosting. 

4 Replies 4
Kathryn141
Level 2
Bahama, NC

I have seen that Airbnb is "testing" greying out photos, but i can't even see profile.

TamaraAndSteve0
Level 3
Vancouver, Canada

I agree. I also only want requests from people with real photos and previous reviews. I definitely do NOT want instant book. Seems you can’t have both. Buy why? Would save alot of time on both sides. Eg if you’re not a good guest or experienced guest, go party elsewhere. Same with guest requests with stock photos from social media.  

If anyone can see how to change settings please share 

@TamaraAndSteve0

Tamara, as part of Airbnb's anti-discrimination stance it is now not a requirement to have an identifiable photo prior to a reservation acceptance!!! Yes I know, how are we supposed to make a judgement call on a guest if we can't actually see them....all we get is a greyed out image!!!

But having said that Airbnb do indeed require a strict regime as far as photo identification is concerned in order to actually book a listing.

Here are the photo requirement before Airbnb will allow a guest to book.....

When you’re asked for an ID, you’ll need to:

1. Add a profile picture (if you haven’t added one already)
  2. Add a photo of a government ID (driver’s license, passport, visa, etc.)