Payment issues and inability to contact customer service

Payment issues and inability to contact customer service

I have been hosting for about 3 years and realize that Airbnb is struggling with staffing during the pandemic. However, I am having some serious issues with the site/app as well as reaching customer service. I am not sure where to turn to at this point.

Issue 1, I cannot reach customer service. I have written messages to the customer service with no response for days. I tried to call in only to be told by the automated system "The next representative will be able to assist with my issue in... 'several hours'", yes it literally said "several hours". WTF! Gives me no option for a call back and I just have to sit on hold.

Issue 2, I had a guest recently cancel and I have been attempting to refund the rest of his money because I was just being a friendly host and wanted to help him out since his trip to the area had been canceled. When clicking issue a full refund and going through the steps it tells me there was a server error and to try again later. Tried from app on phone, website in multiple different browsers, to no avail the issue has persisted now for three days. He also tried requesting payment from me only to have me get the same error when trying to complete.

Issue 3, a potential guest was recently told that she could not book because she was getting a message saying, "choose another place to stay airbnb prevents reservations for entire homes when a pattern of factors suggest the booking may be unsafe please try a hotel room instead". To me that doesn't make much sense. An entire home booking should inherently be safer than a shared or partial space...

I am at my wits end now and not sure where to turn as I can't get in touch or get any resolutions.

4 Replies 4
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Nicholas-and-Tomoko0 Some thoughts:

Issue 1 - Call very early in your day and you'll probably get a UK or Irish support desk.