Photo ID for guests

Sarah1448
Level 2
Tasmania, Australia

Photo ID for guests

Hi hosts, I had a booking request from a brand new guest (literally just created their account) therefore had no reviews and no profile photo. I sent a couple of really polite messages back and forth explaining that I am new to hosting and that I have never made a booking with a host who doesn't have a profile picture. I tried to prompt some answers i.e who was coming with the guest, the purpose for their stay etc but the guest said they did not want their photo on social media. In the end the guest offered to send me a copy of their drivers license as a form of ID, so I accepted the booking only for the guest to cancel it with the message 'I booked some where else without photo ID'. Am I being unreasonable? The guest knows what I look like from my profile picture and will be staying in our house that my husband and I ripped back to bare frame and completely renovated. I am feeling really disappointed as it was my first contact with a potential booking (the calendar isn't open for a couple of months as we have tenants living there at the moment)

Do I need to be a bit more leniant in the future? Has anyone else had a similar situation? Thanks in advance 🙂

8 Replies 8
Steve143
Level 10
Limerick, Ireland

Hello @Sarah1448,

I rent a room in the house where I live and always insist that guests provide a profile photo showing their face. I presume that guests are happy to see the host's photo so, as Airbnb, ostensibly, works on trust they must be willing to at least send me a face photo even if they don't want to have one on their Airbnb profile.

If they don't have a face profile photo I send the following message.

Hello XXXX,
I welcome guests personally when they arrive.
So as I can recognise you and welcome you by name can I ask you to upload a face profile photo or to send one in a message or by email?