Questions about how to review a couple of things that happened recently

Karin12
Level 2
Ottawa, Canada

Questions about how to review a couple of things that happened recently

Hello community!

I've been hosting for about 2 years now. Lots of great experiences, but 2 incidents happened lately and I'm second guessing myself about how to review the guests. I have 2 guest rooms in my primary residence.

Incident #1

Young couple stayed with us for 2 nights. They were friendly and seemed to be respectful about the rules, for example they came and asked if they could use the microwave in the kitchen (which of course they could), before actually going ahead and using it. My additional rules state: "Men, please put down the toilet seat after using the toilet. No noise or hot tubbing after 11 pm due to city noise bylaws." The second night we were up watching tv until about 11:30 then retured about midnight. At 12:15 as I was trying to fall asleep, I heard them go into the shared bathroom and start drawing a bath. They were talking and their voices were carrying a little because there isn't much to absorb the sound in the bathroom. After about 10 minutes I went and knocked on the door and asked them to keep it down. They turned off the water and then stayed in the bathroom until about 1 am, all the while still talking and making tub-thumping sounds. The next morning I saw that they had left the non-slip tub mat (that usually goes inside the tub) out on the bathroom floor. Later that day my son reported also having found the toilet seat left up a couple times while they were there.