Safety

Priscilla125
Level 1
Spring Hill, FL

Safety

This is my first time hosting and someone requested to reserve my place and I accepted but just realized the only things verified are his email and phone number.  Can I ask for ID to be verified?

9 Replies 9
Yiann0
Level 3
Aberdeen, United Kingdom

Hi @Priscilla125! In my limited experience, it depends on how many nights they've booked. I just had a horrible guest experience that the guest was all verified but never booked before, and only booked with me for one night. It ended up being a teenager throwing a party. I would ask to provide ID, if that fails then I don't see why you cannot cancel the booking, since you feel unconforatable. Then again, I've been hosting since June.

I am just not getting a good feeling. He asked for 9 days....he and someone else. It shows he just joined Airbnb in November and just his email and phone number are verified. I did send him a message to please provide ID and get verified or I will need to cancel.

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Priscilla125  You should also ask for the name of the "someone else" who he says will be accompanying him, and make sure he booked for 2, not one.

Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

To be fair to those travelers on Air BNB, you can set up a profile with minimum verification. That works for those hosts that really hotels and do not have the security issues you might have.   If that level of verification does not work for you, ask for more.  If you have Instant Booking activated, make your requirements to include verification and positive review.  

I have those requirements for IB but if I get an inquiry with less than what I want, I ask for it.  Most travelers are happy to comply.  Those who do not want to comply, are not accepted by me.   Simple.

As @Sarah977 has posted, I always ask for the full name of any other guests that will be coming as well.

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Priscilla125