What to do when I have a reservation inquiry pending and then a reservation request comes through?

Andrea897
Level 1
Spokane, WA

What to do when I have a reservation inquiry pending and then a reservation request comes through?

I am new to hosting (my listing went live on Saturday) but I've already confirmed 3 reservations over the next month.  This morning, I received a reservation inquiry for 4 nights and after communicating back & forth, the guest said they need to talk to their husband and then will "probably" book this afternoon.  While that one is pending, I just received a reservation request (I realize that this is different from an inquiry) from a guest who would like to book 3 of the 4 nights that the original guest inquired about.  I'd prefer to book the first guest, since they were first to inquire about those dates and it's for 4 nights instead of only 3, but I am afraid it will hurt my rating if I pre-approve hers and then decline the reservation request I received?  

Does anyone else have any experience with how to handle this type of situation?

Thanks!

Andrea

9 Replies 9
Vanessa-and-Kurt0
Level 10
Farmington, CT

@Andrea897,

This is one of those host dilemmas that you will have to make a personal rule and stick to it.  For me I let potential guests know that I do not hold dates off my calendar so that means it is first come first served and they may lose their preferred dates if they wait. #1 this will usually push them along and #2 if someone else books I feel o.k. about taking that booking #3 I never second guess myself "if I had just held out for that other guy"... You will develop your own personal rule.

You may want to reach out to the first guest and give her a friendly heads up that you have another inquiry and give her a timeline (like an hour or 2) to book or you will accept the other reservation. Then book the second one if she doesn't come through.

Good luck. Let us know how it works out.

Jann3
Level 10
Santa Rosa, CA