instant book vetting guests

Margaret0
Level 8
Dublin, Ireland

instant book vetting guests

I have been hosting for a few years and had quite a few guests. I just had a run of really easy guests and decided maybe focus in future on people coming over on business - less work they dont expect me to entertain them. I had been feeling a bit burnt out after my summer holiday guests.  I find women my age can expect me to be a friend and part of their holiday. They may be nice but its still a strain. Older men can also expect me to entertain them, a few have asked me out for dinner. If I like them I go (I went once). 

Its November Dublin slows down. 2 guests left on Thursday morning. I had one other leaving very early on Friday. Late Thursday evening I got a request from a French girl for a friend of hers to stay 3 nights starting Friday. She had a few reviews. I know  airbnb is no third party bookings but I get them and they work out fine, its usually relatives or friends booking someone in . I asked the French girl for information on her friend - the usual vetting questions tell me a bit about him,  age. Is it a man or a woman ? I speak French, her English was poor so I said reply in French if you want.  She said no English fine and I got a one sentence reply in English after half an hour. She gave me a first name (a strange one) and just said 28 year old guy and he would love to stay in my beautiful house - no more.  This could have been language issues on her part. 

I thought people do instant book all of the time. This is probably ok its late I am tired I am waiting for answers here and its blood out of a stone. I booked him in.  I sent her guides etc and asked for his email - no reply. I then asked re checkin time. She organised the time with me but ignored requests for his contact details and said she would give him mine. this made me uncomfortable. What if there was an issue with checin ?