leaving keys for guests

leaving keys for guests

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Hosting and wondering how do other hosts leave keys for guests? I cannot meet guests on arrival and need to leave a key thats accesable at all times, my first thought was a keysafe but I would have to change the code every time the guest leaves so they don't have unlimited access to the property. 

Another thought was a Yale smartlock that works via a downloadable yale app where you can send keys to guests nut these are expensive and I am sceptical about how well they work.

Any suggestions  ??

thanks in advance

27 Replies 27
Julie_Mike0
Level 7
Chicago, IL

I use a basic lockbox with a 4 digit passcode that I set to the last 4 digits of my guests phone number. I change this after each guest and it takes about 10 seconds. I would be wary of using any type of system where the guest would be required to use an app (not sure if the Yale one does but just in general).

100% Agreed ... but if you are away while an old guest leaves and a new comer is on?

You’d still need to clean the place, so I don’t know how that’s an issue.

My cleaning person or I reset the door code when it’s ready for the next group.

Yes which is why there is cleaning services Einstein and its already a struggle getting them to clean properly much less rest a code on a lcckbox or alarm 

This is a fantastic idea!