unhappy guest

Karina192
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

unhappy guest

Hi All,

Quick question. i have been hosting for the past 3 years and have only had really great reviews and have really loved hosting guests.

I have never had a guest want to cancel due to being unhappy and therefore not really sure what I need to do regarding refund and cancellation.

I am aware that if i cancel I get a bad review on my page. I am also aware I can refund however am a bit upset about the circumstances.

Details of the last 24 hours:

1. Wifi wasn't working when my guests arrrived. I asked them to restarte etc and int he meantimie contacted my service provider to see that the problem was. The apprently had a brek in their main line and had to schedule unplanned maintencne last night. the internet was working this mornign again. 

I had offered my guest to bring a temp internet dongle however did not take me up on it. 

they then told me today that they are cancellinga sshe was here for work and that not having internet last night set her back.

2. This morning they woke up to not water (9am).  I quickly called around and found out the entire building had no water. I called the city to repair or find out the problem. It ended up the the neighbouring buildign burst a pipe. I personally paid the city to fix the pipe today and turn the water back on. this all happened by lunch time. 

3. Lastly, by guest complained that it was cold in the bed even though I have loads of etra blankets etc int he apartment, so I went out an bought a heated blanket this morning.

they now want to leave.

Please hlep with the best course of action

Best,

Karina

19 Replies 19
Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Karina192 Whatever you choose to do, do not cancel on behalf of the guest. If they are unhappy, they should be the ones to cancel the reservation.