Bookings

Sheila254
Level 2
Marshall, TX

Bookings

Hi, I am new to Airbnb, but reading some of the other conversations going on makes me think I've made a mistake doing so. I see politics play a part in this business also and maybe a little racism as a side note. I have yet to have my house booked although there appears to be a lot of interest until I send a reply to inquiries which I'm assuming let's the guests know that I'm black. Anyone out there with anything positive to say that may encourage me to continue with this endeavor?

5 Replies 5
Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

@Sheila254They will see your host picture long before, so that won't be a surprise. You will get a lot of enquiries which do not book, that is normal. Just wondering about your pricing: the price is same for 1 guest or 10 guests, is that right? Seems quite cheap but I don't know your competition. Not sure what questions the people are asking you, but as you get more enquiries you can nudge your listing to answer those issues straight away (not that guests all read, but anyway...)

One thing I would do is look at the pictures and try to have clearer images, they are quite low resolution by the look of things.

Once you have a few bookings and get a few reviews it will be smoother hopefully. The first guests have to take a chance on you, it is a hurdle to jump.

Sandra's response is perfect...I faced similar challenges at start up but have progressed quite nicely...do not make automatic assumptions about the racial issue because you allow the thoughts to pervade your interaction with folks of other racial identity...we have had black couples stay with us to our delight...

booking ratios based on inquiries should come in around 2% or higher based on views and inquiries so don't fret that the numbers seem low.

Victoria567
Level 10
Scotland, United Kingdom

Hi @Sheila254

Racists sadly exist everywhere.