Guest stained sofa

Janne191
Level 2
Trondheim, Norway

Guest stained sofa

Hi everyone.

I'm new to hosting, and will just be doing it for the summer. Up until now I've had six guests (one of them have booked twice), and everyone has been lovely.

Yesterday a family left, and the cleaning was sub-par. This comes in addition to them arriving early to an already early check in, bad communication regarding check out, asking for a fifth guest to stay, which we accepted, but still bringing a sixth one without asking (just informing us about it), and not paying for parking until I requested it twice. Needless to say, I would not host them again.

The counter tops, fridge, floors and carpet were all visibly dirty, and the sofa was stained. It looks like they may have spilled some water/drinks, and also some food. We almost got the food stain out after trying lots of different products, but the water stains are still there, and the covers are not washable/replaceable.

I messaged him and told him about this, and asked if he had any idea what it may have been - as a sort of heads up that this might be reflected in my review, and that there may be a charge/fee for this. 

He answered something along the lines of "We travelled with kids, so who knows. Probably food or drink. It may have been .." No apology, no nothing.

Now I just need some advice - what would you do? In the event you charge for something like this; how much? It's not so much about the money, but the overall attitude, and the fact that this was just one more thing on the list of negatives.

Thankful for any help.

1 Reply 1

Hi @Janne191 ,

Dealing with a situation like this can be frustrating, especially when it involves multiple issues beyond cleanliness. Here’s how you can approach it effectively as an experienced Airbnb host:

1. Document Everything: