Is it a fake listing ?

Is it a fake listing ?

Hi! Im new to airbnb and want to make my first booking. I found a nice place and im looking to stay for 2months.

My host seems to good to be true. He has +200 reviews but 0 from the one im about to rent. The reason for this is that hy just moved there with his wife and 2 children. We talked via airbnb but he quickly offert his number. 

I was hoping someone with more experience can take a look?

I though i could paste a link here but it got taken off...

**[Identifiable information removed in line with the Community Center Guidelines & Title updated by OCM to make it relevant to the post]

12 Replies 12
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Have you read the reviews for the hosts other properties @Geoffrey191 

some of host ratings are low by Airbnb's standards 

hosts are not supposed to talk to you off platform before you have a confirmed booking. How did you exchange numbers

always keep all communications on Airbnb .

personally I would book with a superhost with great reviews 

Hi @Helen3  thankyou for your reply!

All the reviews seems to be good when i read them. The average is 4.4.

He send his number thru airbnb in a way air bnb wouldnt notice i think.

I asked him iff we could do the payment using airbnb and he didnt mind. 

Since this place didnt have any reviews and i was suspicious he offert me to talk with a current tenant. I did and it seems legit but i still dont know. She offert to give me a video call with room tour, i am probably doing this tomorrow.

I think he just wanted to avoid the airbnb fees...

Still i dont know what to do. I feel a bit paranoid.

"I think he just wanted to avoid the airbnb fees..." which is a whopping 3% and he is willing to go through all such sweaty gyrations to save that? No wonder you have misgivings, you should.

Hi fred

Is it only 3%?!

It says the airbnb service costs are around 500€ wich is about 15% but i dont know iff this is what you mean.