Extra service fees?

Britt953
Level 1
Saco, ME

Extra service fees?

Hi!

I am a newbie host, and I had read a tip somewhere online about how you can offer extra services to guests like doing a customized grocery run for them before they arrive so the fridge is already stocked with what they want, etc. 

I'd be interested in offering this as an option for our guests, and I'm wondering if anyone else out there offers something like this, and if so, do you charge a fee for getting the groceries or doing other special shopping/errands for guests?

Thank you!

10 Replies 10
Fred13
Level 10
Placencia, Belize

We use the 'extra services' fee method for a variety of reasons, since these services are related to but do not fall under lodging per se.

Ahhhh, thank you for sharing that, @Fred13 ! If we do move forward with this kind of service, I will check out the extra services fee method. Much appreciated!

We use it often for our tours actually (fishing, going to other islands, added town runs, etc) and never has Airbnb takes a commission out of it.

That sounds like a great strategy, to offer tours - we have two small children which could make it a challenge for us to do that right now, but it's definitely something we will keep in mind for future years!

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

I can't see how you would make money out of a service like this @Britt953 . You wouldn't be able to charge enough to make this worth your while unless you have an incredibly high end property with guests willing to pay silly prices for convenience services.

Why not just recommend local grocery stores who do deliveries and the guests can organise their own deliveries.That's what I do when I go and stay in a self catering venue.

Excellent point, thank you, @Helen3!

Sudsrung0
Level 10
Rawai, Thailand

@Britt953