Customer Demands refund or bad review

John5520
Level 1
Canterbury, United Kingdom

Customer Demands refund or bad review

I have been offering my experience for over 3 years with no complaints, I hosted 3 people, A French Lady (From Paris), and Italian Lady (From Modena) and the French Ladies Husband who was a German National, all of whom spoke good English and understood in advance that my experience was merely light entertainment. The tour started off well, but within a few moments of our starting to move on I noted that the French Lady was constantly checking her phone, I assumed she was busy with her work calls, or emails, but in-fact she was fact checking on Wikipedia all the information I was giving, not in the spirit of the experience. I continued as the Italian lady showed great interest. after only 40 minutes the French Lady said that she had forgotten that she and her husband were booked on a Punt tour of the City? Which seemed odd as I was clear about how long the tour would take and the subject matter. She left and I thought it was odd, then soon after I received a message demanding a full-refund, claiming the experience was not as advertised, and that failure to have a refund would result in a nasty review. I have had a 4.8 average all the way through my hosting experience and hundreds of positive 5 star reviews. I immediately issued a full refund. with a note asking her not to post a nasty review. She did not respond and then posted a vitriolic horrid review, closely followed by her husband. 
I understand that all I can do is post a response and try to keep it consolatory, but it was truly bizarre?

5 Replies 5

@John5520   See here:  https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/548/airbnbs-dispute-moderation-for-reviews

This policy prohibits:

• Guests threatening to use reviews or ratings in an attempt to force a host to provide refunds, additional compensation, or a reciprocal positive review.