Extenuating circumstances- Students Visa and Travel restrictions

Extenuating circumstances- Students Visa and Travel restrictions

Hi! 
I need help with the extenuating circumstances full refund under the policy details: 

Changes to government travel requirements. Unexpected changes to visa or passport requirements imposed by a governmental agency that prevent travel to the destination. This doesn’t include lost or expired travel documents or other personal circumstances relating to a guest’s authorisation to travel.

I wrote to my host and made a full refund request stating that I have a delay in my visa process caused by the embassy and another body that monitors students like me, which directly affects my travel as this comes under the government travel requirements. She not only cancelled my request but also trashed me for even asking. 

Now, I'm not able to apply for a refund on the lines of the policy, due to the host.

I request some help! I am a student, I cannot afford to lose money for no fault of mine. 

6 Replies 6
Johanna394
Level 10
Tampere, Finland

@Kalpika0 

Do you have some kind of travel/student/etc insurance you could attempt to submit a claim to? I am not sure this would work or be covered, but could be worth the try if applicable.

Also, based on what you wrote, it would seem that your circumstance falls under the "other personal circumstances relating to a guest’s authorisation to travel", which is not covered by extenuating circumstances policy. I understand this must feel most troublesome to you, but as you yourself stated, it is a  delay in the process, instead of an actual, unexpected change imposed by the government.

Correct me if I misunderstood something.

Thank you for suggesting it, @Johanna394. I will check if my travel insurance covers this.

As the visa issue comes under the government, I understood that it would imply any changes/delays caused by them. Without which it would be illegal for me to travel to any country.