[FESTIVAL] My journey of connection and warmth in the French countryside

Delphine348
Host Advisory Board Member
Achères-la-Forêt, France

[FESTIVAL] My journey of connection and warmth in the French countryside

France 1.png

After 10 years of living abroad with my husband and children, I came back home to our small village near the Fontainebleau forest in 2017. I was glad to return and reopen our home, making it a warm place for family and friends. But I needed to make a decision on what I should do for a living. 

I was attached to my rural way of living and looked for connections. I started by creating a nonprofit association with other locals to protect our environment and prevent the spreading of sewage sludge from a wastewater treatment plant. It was a community success, and I felt I belonged again.

We soon bought a second house in the village to welcome more friends and maybe offer a home to one of our children. We began a total renovation of the old 19th  century house, which took more than a year. I loved the design work and first thought about hosting during this time. 

I decided to give hosting a try without knowing anything about it—I was only a guest at this time but we had appreciated our first stay in Montreal. I did my research and tried to learn as much as possible on Airbnb. I was committed to welcoming my guests in the best way possible and even took language lessons with an app to refresh my German (with little success).

I started hosting in March 2020  just before COVID-19 lockdowns began in France.

Two weeks later, our president officially announced the lockdown for two weeks. My app bipped immediately, and I had two stays booked by Parisians leaving the city. 

My house has three separate listings in it.. Twin brothers booked one listing. Both fond of bouldering, they wanted to share this period together only and enjoy the rocks in the forest.