Guest subleasing

Kourtney21
Level 2
Wichita Falls, TX

Guest subleasing

My current guests (reservation July 7-10, 2 adults and 2 children) arrived on July 7 as 2 adults and 4 children. This was the first violation— having 2 extra children that were not on the reservation. I thought I’d let it be and address it privately after they’ve left on the 10th. July 8th, the guests leave in the afternoon and at midnight, 7 complete strangers (5 adults and 2 children) arrive to my house. I have security cameras and footage. This is how I know the details of this stay. This is a complete violation and home invasion. I am very new to hosting as this is only my 4th booking. I have contacted Airbnb support and sent many screenshots of camera footage. They haven’t been much help yet. Have any other hosts experienced this? I’d really appreciate some help and input on this matter. Thanks. 

9 Replies 9
Gwen386
Level 10
Lusby, MD

Contact guest who made reservation and inform them that the people in your rental has 5 minutes to vacate. And if they don’t that you’re calling the police.  

Robin1119
Level 2
Los Angeles, CA

I am so sorry this happened to you. I would contact guest through the chat and let them know that the booking party must be a part of the stay.  You can also throw in where appropriate that they will be responsible for any damage caused by their unregistered guests. 

For future, put this in your house rules about unregistered guests not on the booking. It curbs this situation. 

Also, since you are a new host Ill share a tip that works wonders for me. I take a video walk through after each clean/ turn over. I capture all areas people tend to use to get credits back like microwaves, sinks, tubs, shower basins, a sweep through bedrooms, etc. This proves the state of the home how they took possession. A guest caused damage a few years back and tried to say it was already there. The video saved the day.