Hello there,

Juliet42
Level 2
Manteca, CA

Hello there,

I’m Juliet, I’ve been hosting on Airbnb since 2017 in good standing, and I WAS a super host until June of 2022! In 2022, I switched to long term hosting, meaning, long stays for a month or more. I have guests booked for 3+ months straight! This dropped my number of bookings to less than 10, and a host with a rating of 4.9, zero cancellations got dropped off the ‘super host’ list. I’m planning to move to other platforms where they honor and recognize hosts for what they do! Thanks for your time!

Best, Juliet

6 Replies 6
Pat271
Level 10
Greenville, SC

The criteria is that you have to host for 10 stays OR 3 stays with 100 nights over the past year. So, even if you had a guest for 3 months straight, you should still reach Superhost if you had 2 other guests totaling 10 or so additional days over the past year. I believe they added the 3/100 rule to enable hosts like you to qualify for Superhost.

You mentioned the possibility of moving to other platforms. That may make sense if you want to host long-term stays on a regular basis. Airbnb doesn’t really provide the payout structure, security deposit structure, lease contract availability, and ability to perform credit/background checks necessary to protect you adequately. This isn’t a criticism of Airbnb; it’s just not where they have chosen to focus their business. There are other platforms that have more of a long-term stay specialization, with the associated host and guest protections.

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Juliet42 

@Pat271 is correct. You either have to host a minimum of 10 stays a year, or a minimum of three stays totalling at least 100 days. So, it is possible to host long term stays and still achieve Superhost status.