Host Insists I cancel

Joseph1235
Level 1
Sayreville, NJ

Host Insists I cancel

Looking for a little advice. I was looking to book a place near a location that hosts a major event on one particular weekend each year. I found a listing(a July 2021 weekend) in which the price was very low, almost too good to be true(about $600 for a 3 night stay). Nonetheless I put in a request to see what would happen. Almost immediately the host accepted my request and I had a confirmed booking.

Shortly thereafter I get a message form the host telling me they ‘made a mistake’ and meant to click decline. They then insisted that I cancel the reservation. They then emailed me with a story about how their mother died, that she was the one who handled their Airbnb, and was unsure if they would even be open next year. They again insisted I be the one to cancel the reservation.

I’m new to Airbnb and found this a bit odd so I refused. I suspected they wanted me to cancel so they could relist the property for much more because it’s a very high demand weekend.

A few days later and now I just received a booking ‘alteration offer’ where the host is looking to charge $2600 more on top of what they already accepted.

What happens if I decline the offer? Does my entire booking get cancelled? What should I do? Should I contact Airbnb or just try to hash this out with the host? Just feels shady for a host to ask me to cancel when, as I see it, they made not 1 but 2 mistakes( first failing to set the correct prices for that particular weekend and second by accepting my request).

Am I wrong for refusing to cancel? It’s not my fault they didn’t properly list their pricing and then accepted my request).

4 Replies 4
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico