Need advice on leaving my first bad review

Daeja0
Level 2
Miami, FL

Need advice on leaving my first bad review

Hi all, 

Im fairly new to hosting and since my property is in a forest in a tiny town I’ve been blessed with decent respectful adult guests…until the 4th of July. 

I’ve been attempting to write a review about the party group of at least 6 super young guys that did some damage, and I’m not sure if this review I keep editing is too long or ok as is. 

Any advice/suggestions would be appreciated. Here it is: 

A** booked my (4 max guests) cabin for 2 people over the holiday weekend. He had at least 6 people in his party. A** was flexible with checking in an hour later than normal to allow the cleaning crew enough time to clean between bookings. Late one night, a neighbor called & her exact words were, “your fire pit just exploded sky high & a bunch of kids are running around with floodlights”. She stayed up & kept an eye on the massive fire until it eventually went out to ensure it didn’t spread to the forest. My cleaning crew charged me an additional $100 on top of their regular fee because of the amount of time it took to clean the cabin, dry out/properly clean the soaked wood floor in bathroom and time spent attempting to salvage the fire pit. They reported to me that a few heavy wooden stump benches surrounding the fire pit were missing & the few that remained were partially burnt & charred. Since I am a fairly new remote host, I decided NOT to reach out to guest to request additional payment for the damages, extra cleaning expenses or extra guests. While I appreciate his flexibility & communication prior to stay, I do not recommend this guest to other hosts that have unchaperoned properties.

19 Replies 19

@Daeja0 Imho, a fire pit is asking for problems. 

@Kitty-and-Creek0