New to hosting - how should I reject someone with a blank profile?

New to hosting - how should I reject someone with a blank profile?

Hi! I'm new to hosting and my second ever booking request is from someone who had zero details on their profile. They have no reviews. And after i mentioned to them that they are not verified, they just verified an email and phone number but no bio or anything. It makes me really nervous because my house is in a really quiet neighborhood with neighbors who are pretty close. I really don't want this to be a party on NYE.

But Airbnb doesn't allow me to reject without providing a reason and I do feel bad but I'm too nervous to rent to them... How should I phrase the rejection note? 

6 Replies 6
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Kara400 

You can choose option "i feel uncomfortable" and mention as reason: the guest has no reviews and ID is not verified.

You can also choose "the dates are not available", Airbnb wil block the dates on your calender (But you can reopen them if you still want guests on NYE).

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Kara400  I think it's quite wise not to accept this booking as it's for NYE and the guest just doesn't have enough info for you to feel okay about it. And guests who are up to no good often target new listings, banking on the host being naive.

If I were you, I might even block New Year's Eve altogether this year while you're getting the hang of things. Sure, you could get a good price, but it's also a magnet for partiers.

But in general, when it comes to requests, being a new guest is often like being a new host-- not sure how things work, not sure what's required, or proper protocol or what's expected by way of communication.