Please advise - current guest states they plan to extend...meanwhile other reservations are arriving?

Answered!
Joel926
Level 2
Manassas, VA

Please advise - current guest states they plan to extend...meanwhile other reservations are arriving?

I'm still very new to hosting. I think I'm handling this right, but not totally sure.

My current long term guest is booked till end of this month. He has recently stated he plans to extend his stay by another month and I've indicated to him I'll approve. A few days have passed and he has not yet changed his reservation to extend another month. He's assured me he will do it...meanwhile today I've received 2 request to book next month.

I've replied to each of the two new booking requests to explain I'm waiting to confirm my guest is going to book another month.

Each of the 2 new booking request have replied and say they understand. I've explained to each Ive asked my current guest to let me know today and to ask him to book if he plans to stay longer.

All good? Recommendations/Advice? 

1 Best Answer

@Joel926  When a Reservation Request comes in, it blocks the requested dates for 24 hours until you take the action of either accepting or declining it. So it's now too late to send an alteration request to your current guest unless you decline the new requests.

You'll have to use your own judgment on what the right thing to do here is. Declining two requests will mean losing two committed bookings and perhaps taking a hit in Search, but if you're confident that your current guest will come through with the full payment, it's a bird in the hand. 

View Best Answer in original post

12 Replies 12
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Joel926