Winter Release Q&A with Airbnb’s Christy Schrader

Winter Release Q&A session

Potential Party

Rose1831
Level 2
Keyneton, Australia

Potential Party

Hi all

I just received a booking that I am afraid may be a potential party or if not a party then a group of young people looking for a bit of a wild weekend.

Would you cancel the booking even if it is just a suspicion?

Thanks for your advise

14 Replies 14

Yes, any time there s a suspicion i d rather cancel, than have to prove damages, deal w claims, remodeling, etc. Better be safe than sorry!

Thanks so much Olivia.  What penalities etc will I get from air bnb if I cancel the booking.  I am new to this so still finding my way around.  Thanks again

@Rose1831 

Do you have Instant Book turned on, and the booking is already completed? Or is this just a Request to Book?

If it is Instant Book, then you can cancel a certain number of bookings (I think 3) without Airbnb having to be involved. Just select “I am not comfortable with this reservation” as the reason.

If it is a Request to Book, you can decline the booking without penalty, but don’t do it too often, or you may decrease your priority in searches, get warnings from Airbnb, etc.

If it is an Inquiry, just respond to the message, but you don’t have to do anything further - just let the Inquiry expire.

When I get a Request to Book that I don’t want to accept, I usually ask the guest to withdraw his/her request to insure the transaction is reversed. Here are the steps for the guest:

-Go to Trips on airbnb.com.
-Find the pending reservation request that you want to withdraw.
-Click Withdraw Request and then click OK to confirm.

This is the best method, if you can get the guest to do it. 🙂

Thanks.  It is an instant booking and its completed.  So seems like I can cancel it without penalty this time.  Thanks heaps