Renters left large stain on rug

Alexia182
Level 1
Bethesda, MD

Renters left large stain on rug

I am new to hosting and this is my first time on this forum.  I would like your advice.

After the renters left, the cleaning came back twice to try to clean this stain, didn't work.

Today I paid $130 to have a professional carpet cleaner come and clean stain but again, he wasn't unable to remove.

When I started filing a claim and it asked me how much I'd like to request from renter.  Originally I was going to ask for $130 for the cleaning today but since it did not work, I may need to rip out the carpet and get a new one in this room.  

How should I answer this question?

Any help would be appreciated.

10 Replies 10
Mike-And-Jane0
Top Contributor
England, United Kingdom

@Alexia182 even if your claim for a new carpet is successful Aircover will only pay the depreciated value of the carpet. I would guess they depreciate carpets over 5 years (maybe 10). So if you bought it many years ago you will get nothing

Could you perhaps buy a rug to cover the damage?

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Alexia182 Seconding what Mike-And-Jane said. If you do decide to rip out the carpet, don’t replace with more carpet. Install something hard, durable and easy clean instead. It’s inevitable that this will happen again. 

Karla533
Level 10
Santa Fe, NM

@Alexia182   Area rugs are very cleanable and that’s what I have. Very reasonable prices on Amazon. My floors are tile. 

there are professionals who patch wall to wall like this for hotels. 

You might be able to place an area rug over the existing wall to wall where the stain is.  Google this for design examples. It’s done In high end properties but the carpet has to be flat enough. Often a cow hide is used. 

I would not recommend to have carpets in any accommodation as carpet is a dust mite and humidity collector.

M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Alexia182