@Rich2944

Rich2944
Level 2
Westhampton Beach, NY

@Rich2944

I am fairly new to AirBnB so I am looking for some community help. I having issues with guests bringing in additional unapproved guests for their. They book with 6 and bring 10. I have in my listing/house rules that there is an add fee for additional guests. AirBnB did help me the first 2 times but now I just get excuses and nothing more. 

I am not really looking for the extra money but rather prevent multiple extra guests. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you, Rich

6 Replies 6
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Rich2944  You need to ward this off at the time of booking. When guests book or request to book, and you message them, ask if they have entered the correct number of guests who will be staying, letting them know that unregistered guests will not be allowed on the property and that bringing extras could result in their booking being cancelled.

Also your listing wording is encouraging this. Eliminate the "perfect for entertaining". Who are they going to entertain?

Your max guest count is 4. So why are you approving 6? Get rid of the wording in your house rules about extra guests only on approval. 

You have 4 bedrooms. If you  are okay with 6 guests, which seems reasonable for a 4 bedroom place, then change your max guest count to 6. Otherwise, stop allowing guests to book for more than 4. 

Rich2944
Level 2
Westhampton Beach, NY

Thank you Sarah. I will go through the listing text and make the adjustments. I do ask prior to accepting them about the number of guests and also send this along prior to confirming:

Hello Joy,
The reason that you could not add the additional names was because we do not typically allow 6 guests to stay. We did initially but guests always tried to sneak in additional people and then 6 became 8 and more. That is unacceptable. We now state that there is a $100 per night per person charge for guests exceeding the approved number of guests.