Unintentional booking cancellation

Unintentional booking cancellation

Airbnb does not protect their guests at all and have ridiculous policies to protect hosts. I booked a 3 week stay by accident and I only recieved 50 percent of my cash back (around 700 euros) after I requested cancellation within 1 MINUTE. It's ridiculous, I'm a student and I cannot risk to loose this amount of money. And Airbnb customer service are very much useless. I'm extremely disappointed in this company and how they run things and all their unjustified policies.

Is there something I can do? The host isn't replying at all and Airbnb representative says they have contacted the host and does not want to return a full refund.

49 Replies 49

@Sarah977  I wonder the same thing. But it can happen if the guest wants to ask a question to the host and instead of using the "contact host" link, he clicks on the request button. If the host accepts the booking is done.

@Branka-and-Silvia0  True. I doubt that Airbnb gives guests any instructions re the difference between sending an inquiry or a request.

@Sarah977  well,  the "request" button is big, red, on the top.... and the contact host is just a tiny link somewhere ... scroll scroll.... down...

I doubt it is accidentally designed that way

@Branka-and-Silvia0 @Sarah977 

after clicking the inquire (contact host) button, you are instructed to type a message.

after clicking the request button, you are instructed to physically input your credit card number. I have never in my entire life volunteered my credit card number solely to seek information. And whether or not this was the case with this guest, I am always baffled when I hear of instances of confusing the two.

@Emilia42  @Branka-and-Silvia0  Well, the OP didn't explain what he meant by "booked by mistake". Could be anything.