pets

Emma2663
Level 1
Rhossili, United Kingdom

pets

Hi 

Im new to this and only hosting my 2nd guests.  They have turned up with 2 dogs, 1 being a puppy!  Im happy to accept dogs, but hadn't really considered a puppy.  Anyway the guests have just gone out, after being in all day, I noticed through the window (not prying the light is on and its dark outside, that the bedding has been changed after only 1 night.  It turns out the puppy has been sick.  The guests informed my husband, they have gone to get cleaning products, but i'm not too happy.  They have opened a pack of brand new bedding, just bought, there were other options there, and I assume the puppy has been sick on the brand new white bedding.  They are booked another night, and adding more guests to their party.  Im stressed and would like to know what to do?

5 Replies 5
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

If you are going to accept pets and most hosts don't then you need to consider collecting a pet deposit and put in your house rules what sort of pets you accept and costs for pet deposits @Emma2663 

Personally I would never accept a puppy because they can become unsettled in a strange place.

Outrageous your guests  have opened up new bedding (although why would you leave it there - it should be in a locked cupboard if you don't want guests to use it). 

All you can do is speak to the guests and if necessary charge them for extra cleaning etc.

Do leave an honest review and tighten up on your house rules re pets. 

Bad enough they bought a puppy but clearly they have let it sleep/play on the beds.

Mark116
Level 10
Jersey City, NJ

@Emma2663  How are they adding guests to the party?  Is the total number of new guests still within your max? 

It's good they told you about the puppy, but extremely rude to open brand new bedding.  I would give these guests are fairly negative review.