Change Fees??

Jesse-Burton0
Level 1
Pittsburgh, PA

Change Fees??

I just had a guest the day before check-in send a request to shorten their reservation by one day to check in a day later. (She said they changed their flights but didn't say why.) I have a moderate cancellation policy set up, so I expected the first night to be charged anyway since it was less than 5 days notice, but it was not. I likely would have accepted the change in any case because I don't want to have unhappy people staying in my apartment with me, but I would also like an option to charge a change fee in the future for this sort of scenerio. Is there any way to do that? 

Also if I would have rejected the change request, what would have happened then when they didn't check in the first night? I am fairly new to hosting, (have only had a few guests so far) and couldn't really find this same scenerio anywhere in the forums. 

Thanks so much for any guidance. 

15 Replies 15
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

Hi @Jesse-Burton0 this is probably the best suggestion I've seen in this Community!  While I haven't had but one alteration request (an extension, not shortening of a stay) I've seen situations where the original reservation was for weeks then a guest makes an alteration request shortening the stay to several days.  In the meantime the host's calendar has been blocked for the original reservation.  I've often wondered if this was a way to circumvent cancellation costs. Hosts should be compensated for shortened reservations in my view.  

Please note, however, if you accept an alteration, your cancellation policy doesn't go into effect.  Essentially you won't be compensated for the day that was eliminated.  You only get the benefit of your cancellation policy if the guest actually cancels, not alters, the reservation even though that is what they are effectively doing.  That's why you need to consider carefully whether or not to accept the alteration.