Have you ever changed your mind about an enquiry you declined?

Imogen11
Level 4
Netherlands

Have you ever changed your mind about an enquiry you declined?

Hello wise Airbnb hosts,

I've been lurking on this board for weeks, reading all your posts and soaking up the wisdom!

Now our place is listed and thanks to the newbie boost we have lots of bookings coming in. 

I had a few enquiries last night from guests who were unable to Instant Book as their profiles had no prior reviews. I declined all of them but was too hasty with one. 

Stupidly I sent a followup message apologising for the hasty decline and inviting her to book again. 

Now I feel like a lunatic; the classic air-headed host who can't make a simple decision 😞

Have you ever changed your mind about a declined booking? How did you handle it? 

8 Replies 8
Luke69
Level 2
Dallas, TX

Hey Imogen!  I have been hosting for about six months now, and I can say that I've never really bothered much with reconsidering a declined request afterward.  If I am declining a request for reasons not related to my/the room's availability, i.e. I just don't get a great feeling about the person requesting it, I try to remind myself that it only takes one bad experience to sour me and/or my girlfriend on the whole operation, and potentially even put us out of commission and render us unable to honor near-future bookings.  Someone with no reviews who doesn't give you that 'warm fuzzy feeling' in introducing themselves - why chance it?  Granted, my listing is physically in my residence, so the stakes may be quite different for me than for you, and considering we've been hovering around an 85% occupancy rate, I simply haven't had much time to dwell on missed hosting opportunities - but I still don't think you should let your conscience be especially burdened here!  Your space, your call.

Joanna85
Level 10
Las Vegas, NV