My first time hosting. Pool issues

Kitty39
Level 2
Ponchatoula, LA

My first time hosting. Pool issues

I am a brand new host with a house and a pool. My listing clearly stated not suitable for children but guest and I agreed.

it is also stated that the pool is a shared space. Occasionally I have friends that will use the pool. My guest decided she would dictate when the pool was available for my friends and I let that go. Guests are getting a super great deal on my home, entire house with pool. As I am new to this any feedback in regards to pool is appreciated.

10 Replies 10
Noel63
Level 10
Coober Pedy, Australia

This is difficult. You have made it exremely clear in your listing that you or your friends may drop by to use or maintain the pool. However, you don't have any reviews yet. I think you need to weigh up how important friend use of the pool is to you.

Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Kitty39 if the pool is shared, I'd take the word Private out of your listing title: it seems a little misleading. I think it's a bit odd to let others use that space if you're renting the whole space, and I think it could cause some issues (as it has already). Maybe set some specific hours that your friends may use it? Couldn't you also charge more for a fully private property than with a shared pool? 

My guest rented my house for 2 entire months, which is great and she is taking her child to therapy every day. Friends use the pool while she is gone. That was the agreement.

This being my first time, I did not understand pricing. She has my beautiful 3 bedroom home for about $45 a night. I don’t know how that happened. I don’t remember agreeing to that low price. I think she should know how she lucked out and share the pool.

But thank you. I see the problem is with how I listed it. Thanks!

Andreas-and-Anna0
Level 10
West Vancouver, Canada