Should I ask my guests to leave a review?

Jude7
Level 10
Rhinebeck, NY

Should I ask my guests to leave a review?

I'm new to Airbnb and just had my first two bookings, back to back. Both parties were lovely, and I have written them both positive 5 star reviews.  I understand that reviews are not posted until both parties have written, which I think is an excellent policy, so that one review is not influencing the other.  

My question is - is it appropriate to ask a guest to leave a review after their stay has ended?  

As a new host, I am well aware of the importance of reviews.  I would like to send a thank you to each party after their stay, and include a request to leave a review.  

Does anyone do such a thing, and is it considered appropriate and customary?

Thank you so much!

Jude

25 Replies 25

Thank you, Clare, for clarifying!  You confirmed how I thought it all worked.

Both of my guests had lovely things to say as they were leaving.  I'll keep my fingers crossed that they're still planning on leaving a review.

Appreciate your help!

Dennis-and-Renate0
Level 1
Leiden, Netherlands

Hi

We always ask any guest for a review. They always give a very positive reation (and review)

Dennis & Renate

Debi13
Level 2
Coeur d'Alene, ID

How can I send a link to my previous guest that just sent me a message saying, she can no longer leave a review, but would if she could, that she forgot.

@Debi13 The short answer to your question is that once the 14 day review period has ended  no one can write a review.  That said, you can ask the guest to write a reference which is like a review but there are no star ratings and references are not listed with regular reviews.

Here's a link that explains how references work :

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/173/what-are-references-on-airbnb

I hope this helps somewhat!

Pam100
Level 2
Mt Pleasant, SC