Difficult guests

Answered!
Meg143
Level 1
Kingston, NY

Difficult guests

Hello,

I recently hosted a guest who, in my opinion, had unreasonably high standards for cleanliness.  Our house is not as sanitary as a hotel of course, but it was cleaned very thoroughly before renting.  Our guest had complaints about "dust" and a moldy smell to the extent that they cancelled their reservation with full payment and I'm sure wrote a scathing review (I haven't read it yet).   I spoke to her on the phone and got the impression that she is quite high maintenance and just not used to the expected cleanliness level of renting a lived in home as opposed to a hotel or something else.  I am new to hosting, and from reading reviews from other places I'm starting to realize that these kinds of guests are inevitable sometimes, but I'm wondering if there are any tips for weeding out/managing guest with unreasonable expectations.  I'm also wondering- if I don't write them a review, does their review never go public? Would that be appropriate to do in a situation like this one?

Thanks community!

1 Best Answer
Ian-And-Anne-Marie0
Level 10
Kendal, United Kingdom

Hi @Meg143  Welcome to the community!

The bad news is... if your guest reviews you then, after 14 days it will be public regardless of whether you review her or not. The good news is... you might have had a proper grown up guest who realises she is high maintenance and could give you a good review after all.

Expectations of guests staying in accommodation expect higher standards than when they are staying at home, and that you can't get away from. If there's any way you can raise your game to cater for these types of guests then it would be good for you in the long run.