Giving directions to the guests/getting lost/道案内

Reiko9
Level 1
Tokyo, Japan

Giving directions to the guests/getting lost/道案内

Hi, I'm new at Airbnb and would like to hear your experiences about guests GETTING LOST finding your place.

What would be the main reasons why it would be difficult to find the location?

Maybe no access to the internet & unable to see the map provided earlier?

Or maybe the map was not clear enough? Were you able to call and reach the host for help?

I live in a residential area where no such landmark exist near by.  So I'm concerned if guests would be able to find my place...I even got lost when I first moved here!

Please give me your idea how I could improve the direction to my place in such situation.

As I live in Japan, many notices are written in Japanese only & I assume it would make it more difficult for my future guests.

Or just your experiences having difficulty finding the location would be much appreciated!

Airbnb初めて利用するものです。

まだホスト経験もないのですが、ゲストが道に迷うことが多いと聞きました。

住宅地で特に目印になる建物なども近くになく、本当に来てもらえるのか心配です。

アドバイスやご経験談をお聞かせください!

7 Replies 7
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

Hello @Reiko9 In your case, I would include a screenshot of your location in the form of a picture in your listing or a manually drawn map (image).

Can you imagine that before the era of the Internet many people (including myself) travelled wide and still could find their destination? It is the guest who should make sure to save the instructions before they come to you. Just emphasize it in your listing.

My location is in the city centre, once booked the guests get/have access to my detailed instructions with a step-by-step list of streets from the central station, they get my full address, and guess what? They still get lost because they failed to read them, and then even sometimes blame me. So you must get used to such stuations. Fewer and fewer people read nowadays. Hence I suggest providing images.

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"