Guest cancelled on day of check in and left a very bad review

Kim873
Level 2
New Jersey, United States

Guest cancelled on day of check in and left a very bad review

Hi Everyone- I need your help and feedback.  I’ve been hosting Airbnb for about 2 years and have had mostly a positive experience with guests.  Most of my reviews are 5-star and some 4-star and 2 3 star ratings.  

Most recently i had a guest named Todd from Washington DC.  He has 1 positive review and seemed to be a solid guest.  On the day prior to his checkin, I sent him a welcome message with check in directions for the room he booked.  The apartment is shared and bookings are for a private room.  Currently there are 4 rooms listed and Todd’s stay would’ve put the place at full occupancy.  I have never had a check-in go wrong before until now.  Also to preface this story, all my rooms with the exception of 1 have electronic code locks on the doors.

Without any communication from Todd I get a cancellation on the day of his check in with a subsequent message from him stating the room was never prepared for his stay and there where someone else’s belongings spread out in the room.  It was immediately clear to me he went into another guests room.  I do a very good job of describing the guests room and never had a problem.  Todd had walked into a bedroom that a long term Airbnb guest had booked.  This long term guest didn’t lock their room so Todd accidentally accessed the room.  I let him know this via Airbnb messenger.  By then He had booked a new stay at a local hotel.  As per my cancellation policy, Todd wasn’t entitled to a refund.  Despite this, I normally issue a full host refund to guests but unfortunately Todd never gave me a chance to offer.