Guest vetting

Mandy359
Level 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Guest vetting

Hi, I'm new to hosting myself as previously I've used a company co-host. 

I seem to think that Airbnb do some kind of guest checking but cannot find specific info on the site despite looking. Can someone direct me and can you also say if you do anything beyond this in checking your guests?

16 Replies 16
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Mandy359  You absolutely cannot rely on Airbnb to do any background checks on guests- they don't. In fact, guests can open a new account and immediately book something.

Judi29
Level 2
Machans Beach, Australia

This is true, found out recently. A guest turned up and his profile pic didn’t match the person. When I questioned the guest about this and the fact that they had two extra people staying bringing the total up to 10 in a three bedroom house, they accused me of entering illegally. My account has now been suspended. This person is still in my home and upon checking his account there is NO verification from Airbnb. Don’t know how we are expected to police this issue as a host. 

Robert6322
Level 2
Hastings-On-Hudson, NY

Wow, that sounds awful.

Robert6322
Level 2
Hastings-On-Hudson, NY

And speaking of police, maybe what I'd do in your situation is call the police to remove them from your house.

Mandy359
Level 2

@Sarah977   

Thanks for taking the time. I just had a search of the site and saw under Resource Centre the piece below (for some reason I can't attach the link).

If this is not strictly correct, how do you vet your guests

"Guest identification and other requirements

Guests provide their full name, date of birth, phone number, email address, and payment information to Airbnb before booking. Hosts also have the option of requiring guests to provide Airbnb with a government ID before they can book."

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico