Host cancellation penalty ?

Michelle1813
Level 1
East Java, Indonesia

Host cancellation penalty ?

I am a host. 

The prices that AirBnB set for my guest's one month stay is too low (from around $30 per night, to only $10 per night because AirBnB give discounts to this guest), and I told my guest I can't accept that. (My reason was my apartment isn't suitable for long term stay...)

I found out that my AirBnB account is set to instant booking mode, so it accepts guests automatically. I asked my guest to cancel, but it turns out my guest requested me to cancel. Sadly, I didn't read this correctly. I thought he requested cancellation on his behalf, not my behalf.

On the AirBnB article that I read, it said "hosts who have Instant turned on for their listing can always cancel, without penalty"

I am new to AirBnB, so I don't know all of AirBnB's features yet. My questions are :

1. How can I know if I got penalty for the cancellation ?

2. My calendar is blocked, and the cancelled booking was for a month ! Is there any possibility for me to unblock this ? And how ?

3. Is the instant book mode actually useful ? I am afraid that this kind of situation happens again and that I need to cancel, and my calendar will be blocked again.

-Please do give me tips on how to be a great host too !-

Thank You.

5 Replies 5
Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY

@Michelle1813 You have no listings under your profile, so I can't look at it to see if you've offered the first three guests some kind of discount (this is common with new listings).  Airbnb doesn't set the price or offer discounts.  When you set up your listing, you set the nightly price, and then you probably set discounts for week-long or month-long stays.  You also chose to set Instant Book on.  Look at your listing and then look at "Booking Settings," "Pricing," and "Availability."