Pet Policy and Service Animals

Chris1006
Level 3
Somerville, MA

Pet Policy and Service Animals

I am a new user and, based on an interaction with one prospective host, I am confused about the service dog policy. I have read it. I understand it. (I am a retired attorney who is also a disabled service dog handler.) I am confused about the way hosts seem to interpret it and how it is (or is not) enforced. I prefer to use experiences like this as opportunities to educate and do differently in the future, rather than seek legal enforcement through appropriate federal and state authorities. Thank you.

(Also, I sent a message about this to Airbnb and was not impressed. I don't think that they actually read my message. They gave me a generic reply that seems intended for hosts, not disabled handlers of service dogs who are experiencing issues with access to host sites. So far, I'm not particularly impressed with Airbnb as a service. Although the new host that I selected seems to be quite nice, understanding of the relevant laws and welcoming to people living with disabilities, and I look forward to my experience with her and her home in particular. )

28 Replies 28

@Chris1006 host interpretations have been all over the map.

As a guest, you should not have to warn the host about the arrival of a service dog, but there has been an occasional story about hosts reacting badly to the unexpected arrival of a service dog.

On the flip side, when guests with a legitimate service animal try to let the host know about their service animal, sometimes hosts will try to work their way out of the reservation.

Since we don't hear about the times everything works out just fine, it is difficult to know how prevalent it is that any problem occurs. We only hear about the difficult cases here.

So it is a bit confusing.

Thank you. Yes, I gave a a heads up and that's when host declined.