Very Few Bookings

Damian0
Level 2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

Very Few Bookings

Hello, 

I'm new to hosting and have just listed a great one-bedroom apartment in Philadelphia. The listing went live December 6 and we booked a two night reservation that same week. Ever since, we've had just one other inquiry and no additional reservations. We did get a five star review from our guests, but it's been very slow. I understood from Airbnb that Philadelphia is a market where there are not enough hosts to accomodate requests, so I'm surprised by how slow this has been going. 

Any thoughts? 

Damian

8 Replies 8
Dave-and-Deb0
Level 10
Edmonton, Canada

Hi @Damian0,

I do not know the Philadelphia market but with that said, December is a very slow time of year for a lot of Airbnb hosts and a lot of people have been posting about this lately on several forums.  During this time of year, you may need to lower prices to hook in the few people that are looking for a place to stay.

I also took a quick look at your listing.  Are you sure it is only a 1 bedroom.  From the pictures it looks like it is at least a two bedroom but is listing as a 1 bedroom and acommodates 6 people.  One thing you could do is lower your price (again I don't know your area so your pricing might be competitive) and maybe charge extra for people over 3 guests.

Also, in your rules you state that: "Cleaning fees cover 1 hour cleaning. Extra cleaning fees will be deducted from your deposit if cleaner has to spend extra hours cleaning after you".  Do you charge a cleaning fee or is built into the price?  I don't see a cleaning fee on your listing.

Cheers

Dave

David

Superhost Ambassador ~ Host Club Community Leader ~ Community Expert ~ Experienced Co-Host

Damian0
Level 2

Hi Dave, 

Thanks for the feedback. I just lowered the price to generate interest. I've made several edits to the listing, but neglected to