AirBNB does not collect from a guest

AirBNB does not collect from a guest

I just found out today when I called. First I am a new host to air bnb. On my second reservation, the guest stayed for 2 weeks. I did not get paid during this time becasue AirBNB holds paymnet to newly registered hosts during the first month. A week after the guest leaves I finally contact air bnb asking when I can expect payout. They explain to me that there is a problem collecting from the guest. WHAT? Three weeks later, I just find out they never collected from the guest? Never told me? Then the kicker, since they didn't do their job, they won't pay me. So I pay for their incompetence???????? What kind of organization is this? I recognize I am new to this, but it seems utterly rediculous that a business partner blows their part of the job and expects the other one to pay for it? 

13 Replies 13

@Steven218

From what I know, guests need to complete payment for the reservation to be confirmed so if the guest did not pay, then they can't have a confirmed booking! Airbnb is not making any sense! 

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/425/when-will-i-get-my-payout?topic=234

"If you're a new host, we may hold your payouts for 30 days after your first reservation is confirmed." 

You mentioned that the 2 week guest was your 2nd reservation. Did you check to see how the 2 completed stays show up on your "transaction history" page? My first guest made a reservation at my listing about 3~4 days after I went live, and she checked in about 1 week after making the reservation. I recieved prompt payment (payout notification the day after check-in, and bank transfer of funds about 3~4 days later) with no 30 day delay so I can only imagine the frustration you are going thru right now. You may have better luck getting a response if you contact Airbnb thru Twitter. Good luck!!! 

Joanna85
Level 10
Las Vegas, NV