Are guests becoming more disrespectful?

Tara1
Level 3
Ann Arbor, MI

Are guests becoming more disrespectful?

This might be crazy, but I have noticed guests becoming more disrespectful over the years and I'm wondering if other hosts have seen the same.

I have hosted my home on Airbnb for 3 years. I have had over 60 bookings. I have always raved about how respectful my guests have been until the past few months. I have had some very bad experiences.  I'm wondering - as Airbnb is becoming more popular, are we getting more people on the platform who are treating our homes like hotels?  We rent our personal home so I am worried about continuing to list on the site if this keeps happening. 

94 Replies 94

@Tara1

I have definitely noticed that guests are more demanding and critical than they use to be...despite the extras that I have continued to add to the property. 

My biggest problems are always in the kitchen where there tends to be the most careless extra wear and tear 

I have never really had rude or noisy guests but i have a minimum of 3 nights ..so idont get the weekenders or party groups who tend to create the biggest problems 

Paul154
Level 10
Seattle, WA

It's always difficult to tell.

Are guests getting more disrespectful?

Or are we hosts getting more easy to annoy?

I am getting older and more curmudgeonly as time goes by.

I lack that honeymoon excitement when I first started Airbnb.

Also, as I gain more experience with amazingly great and clean guests, the disappointing guests seem more disrespectful.

Maybe it's a cycle or just luck?...

Well-said Paul!

Even before I read your words, I was having some thoughts around your point.

Yes, as we age we certainly become less willing to accept things that seem to be logical, written, plainly written in our description, that guests insist in not read, or so they claim and then, make a review telling that the description isn't complete or needs more details...