Can 5 stars overall be recovered?

Galway1
Level 2
Galway, Ireland

Can 5 stars overall be recovered?

Hello,

I'm fairly new to the business but already love it. Many small improvements could be done to the platform, but things are great! 

I got some (4/34) 4-stars reviews and that dropped my overall to 4.9. I wonder if there is a way of getting the 5.0 star overall back. And what would be the treshold for that.

In a sentence: 4/34 is around 12%, if I could drop that to less than X%, I would get my 5.0 overall star back. What is the X?

Best,
Lucas.

11 Replies 11
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

Yes, @Galway1 as it is just a matter of math.  

Galway1
Level 2
Galway, Ireland

@Linda108 Thanks. Yes, I know is a matter of math, that is why I've posed the question as a math question.

Do you know what is the X in the question?

@Galway1 the X in this instance I believe would be calculated thusly:

I think if you can get your average to be any amount higher than 4.950, it would (for display purposes) be rounded up to 5.

Assuming all your non-5-star ratings are 4s (heaven forbid you get any ratings below 4), then since you already have 4 ratings of 4-stars, you need 76 ratings of 5-star to get *exactly* 4.950 average.

So 77 or more 5-star ratings would round up to 5 in display.

Or, expressed another way: if you have 80 total ratings and 4 are 4-star and the rest 5-star, then your average is 4.950.

Having 81 ratings or more (all 5-star, except 4 are 4-star) will average over 4.950

Don't forget that the guests often only look at the pictures of the stars. That gets rounded up to 5 pictures of full stars for anything over 4.750, which is far easier.

Hi Matthew, that is the supposition I've made as well. Thank you for your time answering. I hope our assumptions are right but seems like I will only know if I ever make it over 4.950.

Best,
Lucas.

Kelly149
Level 10
Austin, TX

does anyone recall if our stats all reset at a rolling 365 days??