Cleaning Reviews

Janene10
Level 2
Mudgee, Australia

Cleaning Reviews

Hi Everyone.

I have been hosting a cottage on a country property for about 18 months. The cottage is not a 5 star luxury place and the nightly price point matches this. It is just a lovely cottage on a large property with dirt roads and starry skies.  I am seeing a pattern emerging with reviews and stars that I feel I need help with.

It involves the cleaning reviews.

Most of my guests LOVE their stay and give me amazing reviews. I have attained Superhost status.

However, I see something eroding my score. Which started with one guest, giving me really a low score.

I had one guest who was obviously had some OCD tendency. He actually lifted up the rug under a heavy wrought iron bed and showed me the dirt under there. He sent pictures of tile glue and claimed it was dirt, he put paper on the floor and sent a pic of his dirty boot mark on it, he claimed the bench tops were unclean but they are oiled wooden benchtops that have a certain feel... and all through his stay he was texting and texting to the point  I didn't know what to do. He gave a long very critical review about the cleanliness and my communication and scored me really low which really hit my rating. It was so odd, it made me wonder if a competing bnb had sent him deliberately to give me a bad review (it made me that paranoid it was so bizarre!)

I have never had to deal with anyone like him since, however, since looking more closely at my ratings, I have found, those guests who have not followed the house rules precisely have scored me low , example; because it is an out of town country property one of the rules is that guests take their rubbish with them to dispose of at the community mini bins on the road out of the area - so guests who have not done that and left their rubbish, end up scoring me low on cleaning, as though trying to counteract their own actions? I don't get it.