First dirty guest

Emma681
Level 2
Exeter, United Kingdom

First dirty guest

Hi, I’m after some advice. I have been hosting for a few years and have just experienced my first real issue. 

The guest have left a soiled sheet on the bed which has soaked through to the protector and been absorbed into the duvet, the  mattress is ok. The other thing is the spare sheet is missing which would indicate to me that there was an issue on more than one occasion and the guest has “removed” the evidence. The soiled sanitary products in the bin confirm the cause of the stains. 

Now i I was thinking learn my lesson, perhaps make better provisions , thank goodness I had double mattress protectors on. But I’m pretty annoyed that a sheet has been taken on top of a ruined set of bedding. The guest had generally been pretty inconsiderate, left taps running and walking dirt in so I was relieved when they left, I did however pick her up when lost and agreed to dump her broken suitcase for her, I feel I have been nice and reasonable but this seems too much. 

So, do I chalk it up to a bad experience and move on or request she compensate me for the bed linens ? 

Also I am not sure how negative I should be with her feedback, I can’t in good conscience recommend her to anyone else. 

32 Replies 32
Mike1034
Level 10
Mountain View, CA

@Emma681 I am sorry to hear your story. But you are very fortunate that it was your first encounter of bad guest in a few years. 

Definitely you need to write reviews with the facts listed. Then other hosts know what happened with the guest so that they can make selective decision when the guest requests booking from them. As for the damage, I would suggest that you make a claim in the resolution center. Please make sure to take photos and provide an internet link or an actual invoice of replacement. If it cannot be cleaned by washing, you may be able to get the depreciated value back. File the claim as soon as possible.

Thanks for sharing!

Gordon0