I am new to hosting, and the first two guests to book with me this month are both new profiles?

Deanna79
Level 1
Sandy Springs, GA

I am new to hosting, and the first two guests to book with me this month are both new profiles?

I just created my host profile 3 days ago and i have two bookings. Both are female profiles that were also just created this month. Is that normal? Can i trust Air BNB verified process?

5 Replies 5
Rebecca160
Level 10
Albuquerque, NM

@Deanna79 As a new host, you will get new guests to the platform because you both are untested as a host and as a guest. And yes, it can be a bit nerve wracking going through the unofficial new host trial period.

Make sure that the potential guests have submitted multiple levels of verification, such as email, phone number, picture,  government ID, and social media profiles. Ask questions that will help assure you that the guest will be a good match.  Not sure how long a guest may book at your place, but you might want to limit  a stay to two or three nights, until you become a more comfortable host. 

I allow up to two weeks and my first guest was a man who booked for two weeks who had just registered online. We did have plenty of messages back and forth, so I was feeling less stressed about the situation. Then he arrived and my dog fell in love with him and he proved to be an excellent guest.

You can always turn down a guest, if at any time they make you feel really uncomfortable.

After a few bookings, and hopefully lots of great reviews, you will get more experienced travelers.

Krystal16
Level 10
Toronto, Canada