New Airbnb Host Would Like Advice!

Chastity3
Level 8
Orlando, FL

New Airbnb Host Would Like Advice!

Hello:

I am new to airbnb as a host. I decided to jump in because I enjoy hosting. I will go above and beyond to make any of my non-paying guests to have a fantastic stay. So to get my feet wet, I'm starting small by hosting a room in my home. I know I'm at the bottom of the barrel, meaning no ratings yet and my nightly rates are pretty cheap as compared to others in my area. I know I have to be patient but I would like to hear from the successful superhosts in the community. How long did it take for your confidence to build up? How many times did you have to tell yourself to hang in there when you don't see any bookings? Did you also start off by renting a room? If you could go back and give yourself valuable advice that has made you successful today, please share!

7 Replies 7
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Chastity3  I've been listing  private room with private bath in my home since I started hosting almost 3 years ago. I don't have any aspirations to do more than that- I get lovely guests and it's worked well for me so far.

I don't stress about how many bookings I get because I don't do this as a major source of income. The quality of guests I get is far more important to me than the quantity.

You're not exactly in the bottom of the barrel since Airbnb gives new hosts search priority, so you'll have that going for you for awhile.

You say your nightly rates are pretty cheap compared to your competition- I wouldn't do this- it will bring you less desirable guests. It can burn you out real quick if you're basically hosting for nothing once you find out the guest took hour long hot showers, cranked the AC up to high while out all day, etc.