New to Airbnb hosting any tips?

Wendy297
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

New to Airbnb hosting any tips?

Hi All,

I am new to this Airb&b forum. I need plenty help. I live in Cape Town at Dolphin Beach. I have a 4bedroomed apartment on the beach. Have no idea how this works, however, have managed to secure a booking soon. Is this maybe the incorrect forum to ask for help?

Please help.

Wendy

14 Replies 14

@Wendy297, this is an excellent place to ask for help.

Keep in mind, though, that the people here will be able to do a better job if you can ask more specific questions about what you want help with.

Can you tell us any specific topics you need help with?

Wendy297
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Thank you Matthwe for your reply. I have managed to secure a good booking over the festive season, however, i have no idea how the payment works. Do you ask for a deposit. In addition, Western Cape is experiencing a serve drought and I feel it my duty to advise the guests. I have sent them a reply but have not had any acknowledgment. Is it fair to ask for some sort of deposit?

appreciate any feedback.

Wendy

@Wendy297, terrific news about getting the good booking!

Regarding the payment: you actually don't do anything. AirBnB will send your payment to you 24 hours after the guest checks in. (I am not sure exactly how the money is sent for listings in South Africa.)

Regarding the deposit: If you want to specify a Security Deposit, you do that in your listing settings. Please be aware that changing it now will NOT affect the booking you already received, as bookings always follow whatever rules/settings/prices that were in place at the time they were made.