Newer host navigating the bumps of unfair bad reviews

Amy1129
Level 2
Portland, OR

Newer host navigating the bumps of unfair bad reviews

I am fairly new to hosting (first full year). I have a private guest suite in my basement.

Like many others, because of unfair or bizarre bad reviews I have had a poor experience with hosting.

I have made additions to my listing details in response to review comments, but I am not sure what additional detail is realistic.

I added actual mileage to local hot spots because I have been marked down for location, even though guests know the general location when booking. I added more detailed space descriptions such as there is a narrower stairway in my 1933 home. 

How many description sections and messages need to say that I live in the home and they may hear some footsteps, and that there is no dishwasher? In being up front and honest about the space with guests, if they read the descriptions, they should know what to expect.  

I now understand it is unrealistic to expect guests to express concerns or ask questions before they leave and write the review. 

One guest left me a 3 star overall review because she saw "water damage and mildew" that I could not find. A full waterproofing system with dehumidifier was installed with the basement remodel.  Also I have a house cleaner and I go through the space after she is finished and check it again before a guest arrives.

With relatively few booking reviews these low scores drop my percentage rating very quickly. That puts me even further down the search lists and makes it harder to reach the Super Host status. 

The whole review process seems to be an aggravation to many experienced hosts too.