Oven stopped working

Oven stopped working

I am new to hosting and currently hosting a guest from Jan 20- April 15. The oven stopped working while preheating last Sunday.  My place was purchased less than a year ago and is currently under a 1 year warranty for appliances and construction. I put in a warranty claim. Appliance repair came and confirmed that the oven was not getting enough power and required an electrician. I submitted another warranty claim to the builder with the invoice stating it was the power supply. Builder not able to get original vendor out for 3 weeks but approved a third party electrician to come out earlier and will not void my warranty. Third party can’t come out until Wednesday. Tenant asking if I can compensate her for not being able to make meals for 10 days. Stove top and microwave are working and I had offered to pick up and electric toaster oven which she declined. Side note I did find out from tenant that she has been basically running a side business of baking and selling bread out of my condo that I was unaware of.  Wondering what some others would do in my position. I appreciate your feedback. 

10 Replies 10
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Gemma290 

"Side note I did find out from tenant that she has been basically running a side business of baking and selling bread out of my condo that I was unaware of."

i would tell the guest to stop running a business from the accommodation !

But you can compensate for the not working amenity. Please note it is not interesting for the guest which kind of guarantees or repair options you have, just make the oven work again asap.

Thanks for your response. I realize my guest doesn’t care about the repair options there are. I’m doing my best to get the electric repaired. What do you think is a fair compensation? 

Patricia1375
Level 4
Nederland, CO